Birthday Celebrations: Is Your Time Well Spent?


This past week was my birthday week. On the morning of my birthday, as I lay awake in bed, the thought occurred to me – how many more birthdays do I have in this body of flesh? How many more years are allotted to me in the “Lamb’s book of life”? None of us knows the length of days that have been written in the script of our life.

As I pondered these thoughts I realized that whatever days, or months or years are left for me, they need to count for something that will outlast me.

My husband, David, shared an interesting statement with me from a devotional reading. I don’t remember who he was quoting, but the thought communicated was this: 100 years from now (if the earth still exists) no one will remember who we are, or even be aware that we ever existed.

Think about it. The only one who will know us, remember us, or see the meaning in the lives we lived – is the Lord who created us and to whom we will return.

We are literally “spending” the time allotted to us here on earth – on something. It’s either being spent on things that last, or things that will dry up and blow away in the winds of time. We only have “now” to affect our world. So, how should I be spending the rest of my life?

This is how I want to spend my time allotment:

  • On the enjoyment of my relationships – with the Lord, my family, and my friends.
  • On getting to know my heavenly Father better – opening up more and more to His transforming work in my spirit, mind and body.
  • On becoming all He desires me to become; including, to be a person of genuine faith – the real thing, not just hopefulness, but certainty.
  • On bringing others into this love-relationship of God’s true family.
  • On encouraging brothers and sisters to put their full confidence in the God who loves them.
  • On communicating through both spoken and written word the awesomeness of our God.

My birthdays are measuring sticks – not a measure of years I have lived on earth – but a measure of increasing levels of faith and maturity in things of the Spirit of God.

I’m glad that I have experienced two births – my natural birth and my spiritual re-birth. My spiritual birth gives purpose to my natural birth.  And the prayer I have prayed for others I also pray for myself. It’s found in Philippians 1:9-11:

“And this is my prayer: that [my] love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that [I] may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ—to the glory and praise of God.”  NIV

How about you? Have you thought about your remaining birthdays? Have you decided how you want to “spend” the time you have left on earth?

©2012, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on April 16, 2012, in Christian Growth, Follow Me, My Journey, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “My spiritual birth gives purpose to my natural birth.”

    So much life and truth in this statement. I have been thinking about what I should do for my 21st birthday in August. I have no interest in spending my birthday in a bar purchasing as much alcohol that I possibly can or finding ways to indulge in sin with limitations that “would” allow me to still consider myself Christian. I still don’t know what I want to do but I am trusting that He will give me plans but focusing on the quote above, what I do spiritually is what will be the most important! Thanks for the reminder.

    • Thanks for your comments. My suggestion for your 21st BD – spend it with people who know you and love you, people who will encourage your walk with the Lord and that you can have fun with.

  2. i like what you say

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 542 other followers

