That’s the Thing


[a poem by me]

To never try,
To never know
Could that plane fly?
Could this arm throw?
And could this dream inside me grow?
Now that’s the thing.

I paused tonight in troubled thought,
As in a backward view I caught
A glimpse of dreams and schemes gone past,
And wondered if somehow, at last
I’ll reach the age of later years
And looking back through sighs and tears
Say to myself in shame of pride,
Of course I failed; I never tried”.

While others round me reached and turned,
In hot pursuits, their fires burned
As mine remained a smoldering ash
With no great flame, no blinding flash.
And I, consumed, sat in the coals
With undreamed dreams and unset goals,
Waiting for the “ideal” day
Of better jobs or better pay
Or “moments suited to the task”
While one by one life’s moments passed.

To never try
To never fail
To one day pass
Beyond the veil
And hear the words I’ll have to say
“I waited for a better day”.

A better day that never came,
While life passed by, things stayed the same;
I waited for the proper time,
The day of muse, or thought or rhyme,
Instead of holding fast each minute
To suck the hallowed essence in it.

O, God a pledge I make this hour
That by your might, your strength, your power
I’ll do the things I plan today
So at life’s end I will not say
“I waited for a better day”
Now that’s the thing.

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on February 27, 2011, in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing Marcy. You have always had the ability to put into words what I struggle to identify. You captured my thoughts with this one!

  2. Marcy:

    I read your poem, and enjoyed it very much. I highly doubt you will look back at the end of your life and say that you never tried, but rather to hear our Lord with outstretched arms say “My good and faithful servant.” It reminds me of that scene in Lord of the Rings where Aragorn asks the niece of King Theoden, “what do you fear, my lady.” And she says something about growing old having been useless. Aragorn says to her “You are a daughter of kings. That will never be your fate.”

    Your poem does encourage others to go forward, and reminds you not to give up. I love you so much. Joan

    • Hi Joan, Thanks so much for your love and encouragement. I would like to be such an cheer-leader for you. You also have a lot to say and the gifts to say it with.

  3. Marcy: Love, love, love your poem. I passed the blog along to my daughter. Hope she will read it often. Thank you for your time in posting this blog. Will do many of us a world of good.

  4. Marcy,

    That poem reads like a classic! Step aside, Milton; step aside, Shakespeare. I knew you had it in you, but honestly, I’ve never heard it come out with such beauty. I could hear your clear singing voice ring through the rafters of my mind as I read the words, but I’ve never seen a combination of words and deep heartfelt expression ring so clearly!

    Your friend from long ago,
    Dave

    • Hi friend Dave! Thanks for your encouraging comments. That poem was written a while ago, but I just shared it with my husband last week. He said, “Put it in your blog, I like it.” I trust that the poem will encourage others to stop procrastinating.

  5. Thanks Marcy – I got here via Dave Givens. So glad I came!

  6. I am ecstatic that came to your blog!
    I really feel the connection and relation from the poem you wrote, which was uplifting and made me realize that I had unreached goals and much more because I had never tried to pursue
    them!

    • Thanks Celine for your very well written comment on my poem. I want to encourage you in your own writing endeavors. I would love to read something you have created (I almost said “penned”, but who uses a pen anymore?). Have a great day!

  7. That is really funny!

    Just so you know, have started a blog- not many blog posts, but here is the adress…
    http://www.celineshope.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

