Disease Does Not Define Me


For the past 3 years I have been dealing with cancer – in a non-traditional way, building up my body’s immune system – I am not cancer-free yet in my body, but my mind is almost cancer-free.

In this regard, I have made several commitments to God and myself – among them is to trust my loving Heavenly Father as He leads me along the journey, and to not allow my life to be about cancer. It’s not the most important issue in my life, nor does it define me as a person.  Life’s challenges should never define who we are.

My roles define me somewhat – wife, mom, home-keeper, speaker, writer, on-going hostess to those who come and go in our home . But my most important defining element is being a daughter of the Most High God. And the most important work I do is to try to accurately reflect His character as I allow Him to shape me into the image of Jesus.

Reflecting His glory is not the work part, the work is being clay-like in His hands – there are still pieces of grit in the clay and dry parts that need the water of the Spirit to soften them so that I am pliable in the shaping process.

He has me in a still place right now. Sometimes I get restless and want to rush the process along – like my desire to see all this New England snow finally melt away after a long, tedious winter.

I thought I was a person of prayer before now, a person of faith. But in this still place both prayer and faith take on a different meaning. There is something I feel I am on the verge of grasping with the fingers of my spirit – something deeper in or further up – perhaps an experience of what faith really is, how it becomes a part of us, and what a tremendous gift it is from our Father-Creator.

One thing I know: “ . . . all things work together for the good of those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” My eyes are being trained to always look for that “good” both now and out ahead.

How are you handling your own challenges? What are you learning through them about faith, or purpose, or the mind and heart of our Heavenly Father?

Peace, love, and grace be with you today.

c. Marcy Aves 2011

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on March 4, 2011, in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Bernice Stevens

    Marcy, I am so totally in awe of your courageous attitude about a disease you have – – you are not a VICTIM, but rather a PERSON who has a disease. Thanks so much for sharing how you are dealing with it. I share your faith that you will be cancer-free physically, spiritually, and emotionally. You are juicing – and THAT’S THE THING. I love that poem Marcy. You are so gifted and so loved. Lovingly in Jesus, Bernice

Leave a Reply

