When God’s Voice is “Indistinct” part 1


Part 1 of 2

What has the Lord been saying to you recently? Or, does it seem like our Father is not saying anything to you?

Let me encourage you to hold on to what you already have heard from God, until He speaks something else. If you need confirmation about what you believe He has already spoken, ask Him for it.

I want to share something from a recent personal experience. It will have to be shared in several parts, because as I was writing it down, it became a little lengthy. Also, part of the “experience” has not yet happened, so the conclusion will have to wait. Do I have your attention?

Many of the Lord’s people, nationally and internationally, have been praying for my total healing from breast cancer. My husband, David, and I have kept this matter before the Lord. Our church has prayed very specifically regarding the cancer.

Lest you think that I am not aware that even Christians die from cancer, I inform you that I know this. So you need not feel compelled to argue the case with me. This is my journey, not to be compared with anyone else’s. I am not a special person, but my journey is specifically mine – it is a journey fitted to me by what I believe are hands other than my own.

Please don’t say, “Well, Christians have to die of something.” As if that explains why they die of dreadful diseases. When God is ready for someone to “come home”, He could just as easily take away their life force, just as He first gave it. I will not make excuses for what I consider cruel deaths. It’s one of the reasons some in the unbelieving world don’t believe that God exists; or if He does, they don’t believe He’s a God of love.

I don’t see anything in the Bible about God’s children dying prolonged, painful deaths, at least not from disease. The Roman lions and other forms of martyrdom are a different story. I believe that God’s grace for such deaths was there in a way we will never understand. Diseases like cancer are not martyrdom.

Cancer is an attack from the pit of hell and a result of Adam’s surrender of his God-given authority to Satan through his disobedience to God; his betrayal of the love of his Creator. It’s part of the plethora of ills that accompanied the fall in Genesis. And humans have contributed to the onslaught by  all sorts of contamination of God’s created world: food, water, soil, and air.

But, through the shed blood, death, and resurrection of Jesus, He took back the authority that Adam handed over to the devil. And then He delegated that authority to His Spirit-born followers. Christ gave authority back to people who are surrendered to God. They have authority to displace disease and the powers of darkness. None other than Jesus said, that our authority extends over “ALL the power of the enemy . . . ” (Lk. 10.19- emphasis mine). In my mind, “ALL” the power of the enemy would include disease.

Some books that have challenged my thinking in this area of the authority of the sons and daughters of God are: We’re the ‘sons of God’ . . . So What? by my husband, Dr. David C. Alves; and,  two of Bill Johnson’s books: When Heaven Invades Earth and Supernatural Power of a Transformed Mind: Access to a Life of Miracles.

Anyhow, three years ago when I was first diagnosed with cancer and was about to go the traditional medical route – surgery, radiation and possibly chemo, the Lord stopped us with a word from several different sources. The word was to “wait” and strengthen my body’s immune system. We have been doing that ever since, though we may have slacked off from the very strict regimen we first started in 2008. I say “we” because David has been with me in this all the way – supporting and encouraging.

Still, I am not yet physically clear of cancer and this has caused us to question from time to time what God is doing or wanting to do through this disease experience. That’s the way I view the cancer – as a human experience, not a death sentence. And even up to this time, I have not been afraid. That’s God, not denial.

I have been patiently waiting (mostly) for God to heal me totally–or to specifically direct my steps to some other form of natural healing. After all, when He created the human body, He also planned what would be needed to keep it in good running order.

Anyway, I occasionally have those days when the question “When, Father?” prefaces or ends my prayers. “You who says to the ocean waves, ‘Stop here and go no further.’ or who says to the storm on the sea, ‘Peace, be still.’ and whom the wind and waves obey – when will you speak those words into my life?”

“Have I really heard from you? Was it my wishful thinking or my imagination that spoke those early words I thought were from you, my Father?”

Let this be background for the future installments of my recent experience in a personal journey into faith.

Are you in a “waiting time” with the Lord right now? Let His fruit of patience fully develop in you.

What do you do when you’re unsure of what you’ve heard  from the Lord?

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on April 2, 2011, in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Your post is very good. You’re handling this very bravely and my prayers are with you

Leave a Reply

