When God’s Voice is “Indistinct” part 2


Part 2 of 2

If you have not already read When God’s Voice is “Indistinct” part 1, please go back and do so, or what follows might not make sense. Thanks.

Often when we experience delays from God, we are not sure whether He’s saying something new about our situation, keeping us on the older track, or not speaking at all; or whether we’re just not hearing – like wax in our spiritual ears.

I had one of those times recently. And the thought came to me, that I should again ask God to confirm my particular journey of faith, or redirect it. I figure I either need to keep waiting or change what I’m doing regarding the experience of cancer.

So I asked God for confirmation of the earlier words I received when this journey began. Of course, I also hinted that a visit from an angel would do wonders to bolster my faith walk.

I have had some remarkable dreams from the Lord during my lifetime that have fueled faith in my heart. But thus far, no angelic messenger from God to deliver to me His unmistakable assurance.

After asking for the Lord’s confirmation, I opened a daily devotional book, Streams in the Desert, that I received as a Christmas gift from a friend. The verse for the day was Matt. 9:29  “According to your faith will it be done to you.”  Whoa! Was that you, Lord?

There was a reminder in that reading that “no earthly circumstances can hinder the fulfillment of God’s Word.” Also, there was the encouragement to pray through, “to the point of assurance . . . that your prayer has been accepted and heard . . . [and] actually becoming aware of having received what you ask.”

I said “thank you” to the Lord, but also reminded Him (or maybe He reminded me) that 2 Cor. 13:1 says  “Every matter must be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses” when a matter of truth needs to be discerned.

So I asked the Lord for confirmation of 2 more witnesses, that I was to stay the course or that He will specifically direct a change of course for me. I then went back to my morning writing work.

I was looking through some things that were in my “Marcy’s Writing” files, when I came across “Sabbatical Insights” – a piece I wrote last April when David and I were on our sabbatical. This was witness #2.

God revealed something to me through a book by Henry Blackaby entitled Experiencing God, which I read during our sabbatical last year. That is when I got a couple spiritual “ahas”!

Last April’s “Sabbatical Insights” excerpts:

When reading the Bible or a thought-provoking book or blog or twitter, or listening to a speaker (recorded or live) a truth insight breaks in, at that point I am experiencing God. Recall that Jesus said, “I am the truth.” So an experience with a spiritual “truth” is an experience with God – not just the words on a page. Wow!

As I read further in Blackaby’s book, other “God encounters” took place. I entered the following in my journal:

Silence from God in response to prayer should increase anticipation for the answer He is preparing to send at just the right time – not our “right now” time, but His absolute best time. Meanwhile, God’s silence is to draw us deeper in to where He waits for us – waiting to reveal Himself to our spirit in a more profound way. When we pray we need to keep our spiritual eyes open and our senses alert to see what God is already doing to prepare our character for His well-timed response to our prayers.

My on-going experience with breast cancer has moved me to just such a place of waiting for His timing. I know what God said to me early on:

1.This experience is not just for you, but for also for others.

2. Wait on me.

3. Don’t be afraid.

4. Trust me.

5. Be still and know that I am God.

And as time has gone on:

6. This sickness is not unto death but for the glory of God.

7. Keep your eyes fixed on Jesus.

8. Let the peace of God “rule” in your heart.

9. Stay the course.

So, in the meantime I am doing my part: waiting, listening, trusting and enjoying the peace of God’s presence. When I feel any bit of anxiety creeping in, I run into Him who is “my strong tower”.

Back to now:

I’m now waiting for the third witness. I’d still like the visit from an angel, but I’ll take whatever God sends to establish the truth of what I am to do or not do.

What do you do when God’s voice seems indistinct? Or when the memory of His word to you becomes a distant whisper?

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on April 6, 2011, in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

