Fresh Water and a Thankful Heart


I am a morning ritual person. When I wake up I have a bathroom routine. Then I move to the kitchen and load or unload the dishwasher and dish drain tray, clear the sink, drink my morning glass of water, decide on breakfast, etc. I don’t like to talk with other people when I first arise because I usually awake with deep thoughts to ponder. Just after breakfast, I spend some time with the Father with meditation on a Scripture or a devotional reading.

Part of my breakfast prep time is to empty my electric tea kettle (I don’t use the microwave for much of anything) and refill it with filtered water from our well.  As I was emptying the kettle this morning I was suddenly struck by the blessing of fresh water at a touch of my hand.

I pictured some of the areas of the world where water is very scarce and there is no means of accessing the underground water – no way to dig a well deep enough to reach the water that is sometimes far below the surface – no money to pay for well drilling. And here I was, pouring perfectly good water down the sink. It occurred to me again how very blessed we are.

How many other blessings do we take for granted? Daily food from our pantry or refrigerator or a local restaurant, shelter, warm beds, electricity, showers and in-door bathrooms.

If you are struggling today with self-pity or daily complaints – take a look around you and start saying “Thank you, Lord” for things you’ve been taking for granted. I think it will brighten your day and give you a different perspective for the challenges you may face today. Thankfulness does change things.

 

©2011, Marcy Alves

 

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on April 17, 2011, in My Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

