Little Birds and God’s Kids


David and I were eating dinner on a recent Friday evening. It was still daylight outside. We were chatting about something when we heard a thump against the sliding glass door to our deck. When we looked toward the glass door and the deck, we saw some small feathers on the glass and a small bird laying on the deck. Apparently the bird tried to fly into the house and didn’t see the glass door. It was a bad decision.

Going out to check, we found the bird was alive. His eyes were open, but he didn’t make any attempt to move. its tongue was sticking out between it’s upper and lower beak. We figured the bird was stunned from the collision. We went back into the house to finish our meal, deciding to leave the bird and check on it later.

However, when I sat back down to eat, I felt awful about the motionless little bird. I felt led to pray for it’s recovery. So I went back out to the deck, stooped down, laid a finger on the bird and prayed for Jesus to touch it and restore it’s ability to fly. I had a strong sense of the Lord’s presence as I prayed. The bird still did not move, but it’s eyes blinked a couple times.

Going back into the house, I still felt a bit of sadness over the plight of this little creation of God. It was then the Lord spoke in my mind, “You are greatly moved by the condition of this little bird; imagine how deeply I care about my children. How much I care about those who have been injured by life or bad decisions.”  It’s hard to imagine that God feels that way about us – interested in each of us.

After finishing dinner and clearing the table. I went back to deck door and looked out; the bird was gone. There was such a feeling of joy and relief and thankfulness. I had asked the Lord earlier that day to reveal His love to me. The answered prayer for that little bird and the impression left on my mind and heart was His answer to my request.  How much our Father loves us!

How has the Father demonstrated His love to you recently? Are you tuned-in to the small things as well as the large ones that leave you with the impression of His affection for you?

©2011, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Christian Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

