What, Me Worry? Or Why Pray, When You Can Worry? – Pt. 2


Part 2 of 3

Click here to read Part 1

Several years ago a friend shared with us that his photography business had just lost a significant account. My husband expressed his concern with something like, “I’m so sorry. Will you be okay?” To which our friend replied, “David, it’s just money.”

It would be good if more of us would have that attitude towards our financial losses or lack of desired supply.

Many of the things we worry about involve money:  jobs, bills, children’s education, caring for elderly parents, etc.  Money problems are common to us all.  Everyone has money problems – rich and poor.  You either don’t have enough, or you try to protect what you have, or you don’t know what to do with what you have. Jesus gives us some needful instruction regarding this time consuming and mentally troubling topic.

Matt. 6:24-34   “No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.   25  “Therefore,   [when you see a ‘therefore’ find out what it’s there for] I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?   26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?   27 Who of you by worrying  can add a single hour to his life?  28  And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.   29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.   30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?   31 So do not worry, saying, `What shall we eat?’ or `What shall we drink?’ or `What shall we wear?’   32 For the pagans run after all these things, [the Jews to whom Christ was talking understood pagans to be those who followed false gods] and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness and all these things will be given to you as well.   34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.  (italics and emphasis ,mine)

Worrying about financial things is like serving another god – Mammon.  Jesus said it, I’m only quoting it:  “You cannot serve both God and Money.   Therefore  I tell you, do not worry about your life, . . .”  What we are subtly saying by our worry is, “God can’t be trusted with the details of my life.  Things happen in my life that are out of God’s control — my circumstances are bigger than He is.”

Like many people today, my husband and I often have more bills than money at the end of the month.  One winter day some time ago, we received a particularly large electric bill.  (At that time we were living in a house that used electric heat .) I knew that I should leave the bill for my husband to open,  but I wanted to see how much our energy conserving methods had saved us that month.  When I opened the bill it was much larger than expected and I began to panic.  “God, where are you?” I cried.  “How are we going to pay this bill?”  And I began to spiral into depression within minutes.

It was then the Lord asked me, “Marcy, how did you feel 5 minutes ago?”  “I felt fine,” I answered him with an accusing edge in my voice.  Then He said to me, “Go back to five minutes ago.  I haven’t changed since then.”

What happened?  I got my eyes on my inability and off of God’s ability.   That’s where worry starts.  We forget we have a heavenly Father who loves us and is able to care for us.

Said the robin to the sparrow,  “I would really like to know,

Why these anxious human beings rush about and worry so.”

Said the sparrow to the robin, “I think that it must be,

They have no Heavenly Father such as cares for you and me.  (unknown)

How do we keep God’s peace in our lives in those times when our human nature tells us we need to worry?  Next installment we’ll look at some practical suggestions that really work.

In the meantime, consider this: is all your worrying making a difference? Do you know that there is a Heavenly Father who cares for you? Or have you just forgotten?

©2011, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on May 9, 2011, in Christian Growth, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

