Computer World


We are living in a computer world – which can be very helpful or very exasperating.

I get totally frustrated when my computer bogs down, responds slowly, won’t do what I am telling it to do (though my husband tells me it does exactly what I tell it to do, I’m sure it overrides my commands), sends me error messages, or totally freezes up.  When it won’t respond at all I have to shut it down and reboot the system.  Sometimes I have to close down one program because another program won’t work efficiently while it’s still open – they aren’t compatible for some reason.  I sometimes dump an old file, only to find out later that I dumped the revision instead of the original.

We have self-repair programs and virus scans and fire walls and security programs.  Sometimes files get contaminated and need “the doctor”. When things go wrong,  I usually get my husband involved, because he has a much better understanding of computer function than I do.  I call out for help and he comes into my office and says, “Let me have the chair.  Let me into the computer.”  And he does his thing.

Occasionally even David can’t figure out what to do so he calls technical support.  If even their expert trouble-shooting does not fix the problem, they refer us to the manufacturer who gives us a ship-back code and we return the hard-drive for repair or replacement.

As wonderful as some of the newer computers are, they seem to need continual up-grades and they are obsolete in 3 to 5 years. Such is the world of computers.

Do you realize that under our cranium lies the most complex computer ever created? The human brain is amazing!  It’s the highest of the created order.  There are centers in the brain which control every action of the human body, involuntary and voluntary.

Damage to the brain affects the functioning of the rest of the body:

  • Mobility
  • Speech
  • Physical sensation
  • Sight
  • Muscle control
  • Fine motor skills
  • Internal organ function
  • Perception of the external world around us
  • Ability to respond to external stimuli

Unlike the mechanical computer, we not only process pre-programmed data, we compare it with new data and we analyze it.  Then we do something else, we “intuit” and imagine and come up with new ideas that were not already programmed into our data base.

I received an email a few years ago that contained a paragraph about the wonders of the human brain. It was written with almost every word misspelled. Only the first and last letters of each word were in the right place and the rest of the letters were scrambled. Yet, I could read and the paragraph with complete understanding. (The only pre-requisite for reading the paragraph was the ability to read correctly spelled words.)  The ability of the human brain to rearrange the misplaced letters is fascinating. We truly are “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Ps. 139:1).

Our built-in computer also can get sluggish, does not respond to stimulus, throws up error signals when old data collides with new data, freezes up, and occasionally shuts down.  We frequently need defragging, rebooting, virus control, and technical support. And sometimes the technical advice from friends or other support people just isn’t enough – as helpful as they can be, they don’t know our “insides” well enough to come up with the right solution.

Sometimes I have to go back to my manufacturer and say, “God, my Maker, help!! I need a fresh start.  Please take over.  Defrag me, remove my mental viruses, clean the registry of my old life that conflict with the upgrade your Holy Spirit installed when He regenerated me.  I am overwhelmed, I feel like I need a ‘reboot’ or I’ll ‘shut down.’  I just can’t process what is going on in my life right now.”

And just as my husband comes to the rescue with my computer problems, God says, “I’m right here and ready to help.  Move over and give me the chair, let me into your computer. Let my words override your mental confusion. Let me change your thought patterns, your perspective. Let my truths sink into your being – because when “you know the truth . . . the truth will set you free.”

He who said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you” keeps His word. You can’t beat that extended warranty anywhere.

So, do you have any current repair needs: defragging, cleaning out of unhelpful data, removal of viruses, de-cluttering – or do you need a whole new hard drive? Entrust yourself to God. You are His specialty.

ANYONE BEEN THERE?

© 2011, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on May 18, 2011, in Christian Growth, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Really enjoyed the blog, and it is very true…we don’t always thinnk of our brain as a computer and we really should…maybe we’d be more careful what we put in it! Thanks

Leave a Reply

