Prayer and Angels


Recently, during one of my quiet times, I was praying for my husband as he prepared his message for Fathers Day. His schedule had been very full for the week and the pressure was on. I prayed specifically for the Lord to give Him the message for our congregation; to put all the pieces into place – Scriptures, illustrations, main points, and peace of mind as he worked.

David came upstairs to get his shower just a short time later and was very excited. He said that he was really on a roll and that everything was coming together, including the illustrations for his message.  I told him I had just prayed specifically for that and it was already answered.

Immediately a Scripture came into my mind regarding Daniel in the Old Testament. He was praying for Israel and for Jerusalem. He was fervent in prayer confessing the sins of the people and asking for God’s mercy. Then he prayed that God would answer quickly. While he was still speaking and making his request the angel Gabriel came and said to him:

“As soon as you began to pray an answer was given and I have come to tell you . . . “  Daniel 9:23

However, in another instance Daniel was praying and fasting for 21 days. He had a vision that disturbed him and even frightened him. As he was in fear and trembling, an angel spoke to him saying:

“. . . since the day that you first set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself  before your God, your words were heard and I have come in response to them. But the prince of the Persian kingdom resisted me twenty-one-days[the exact time of David’s fast and prayer].

The angel added that Michael (the Archangel) came to assist him so that the answer to David’s prayer could be delivered.

Now, I’m not saying that an angel came to David to tell him what to preach when I prayed. But I do believe that there are many battles going on in the heavenly realm – the invisible realm – and that there may be hindrances to our prayers and the arrival of the answers to those prayers due to forces in the spiritual dimension. And angels are a part of the delivery process.

Hebrews chapter 1 verse 14 says:

Are not all angels ministering spirits sent to serve those who will inherit salvation?”

Some prayers are answered before they are prayed – like Holy Spirit initiated prayer; if God implants the prayer in us, He certainly already has the answer. What wows me is that God makes us a part of the process of getting His will done on earth, through the avenue of prayer.

Other prayers fall into the category of “praying until” – until you get a release in your spirit that the answer is coming. When we are led to continue in prayer for something, perhaps our prayers are a part of the spiritual warfare going on in the heavens?

I have to admit that I prefer the times when the prayer is answered almost before I finish making the request. However, the persevering kind of prayers, which involve waiting and watching, probably do more to build strong faith.

And after all, isn’t that what prayer is really about. It doesn’t change God, but it changes us and the world around us. What a gift and privilege He has given us. And somehow, we partner with the angels  as God directs His forces to carry out His plans.

So, what’s happening in your prayer life these days? Any exciting prayer answers you would like to share?

©2011, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Christian Growth, God Encounters, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hi Marcy,

    I just discovered your blog. Great job. Regarding your question, there was a miraculous answer to prayer a few weeks ago concerning a woman in our small congregation. She had been in some serious pain but continued to maintain her schedule. The event was a small weekly prayer gathering. Several people gently laid hands upon her in the New Testament manner, while everyone prayed, asking for healing. I was not there so I don’t know the details, but the lady described a sensation that came upon her and in a very short time a lessening, and then ending of pain. She has since testified publicly before the congregation, as has everyone who was there. It was a gentle time, no rockin’ and rollin’ or shouting, etc, though I’m certainly not against such if it is real. The point, of course, is that the Lord healed her. I will pray for you. Keep being strong.

    RJ

  2. Marcy, I loved your post! I was looking for something to link to my new poem “The Angels With Us Pray” and came across your blog. I believe that angels are constantly with us, walk among us and whisper to us. They protect us, carry messages, give comfort and pray with us among the many other things they are charged to do. In my opinion, an angel was playing messenger between your prayers to God to your husband. I might be totally off the mark, but I don’t think so. I believe God uses His angels for many, many things and they are not given the credit that is their due.

    Peace and blessings, Teresa

    • Thanks for your comments Teresa. I know that God’s angels are His servants to minister to us. I don’t recall a Scripture that says they pray, because they have continual access to God’s realm. But thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  1. Pingback: The Angels With Us Pray | What about God?

Leave a Reply

