Imagination: Poetic Advice


My last blog was about imagination and creativity; how we have all been endowed with imagination, and if we would only allow it to surface, any one of us could be creative. In fact, we were meant to be creative because we were created in the image of God, the Creator of the universe, the Designer of us.

Some may think that creativity only shows itself in the arts or in scientific discovery or feats of engineering. However, creativity can and needs to be a part of our daily lives.

I find myself constantly challenged to use creativity in preparing meals. For instance, I pull out a recipe and don’t have half of the ingredients. No problem. I just substitute other ingredients. Often I actually create a new recipe.

My husband’s only complaint, if he likes the dish that was created by substitution, is that I might not be able to re-create it.  That’s because I use what’s on hand as substitute ingredients, and don’t usually write the revised recipes down.

I also use creative imagination in other areas:  when my husband reads one of my blogs he’ll sometimes say, “Honey, that word you used is not a real word.” And I’ll reply, “It is now.”

We all have an imagination, we just have to learn how to sit back and give it free reign. We must sometimes de-clutter our lives so that imagination has space to thrive.

In my last blog I referred my readers to a website where they could listen to a song called “Imagination,” from our children’s musical, Real Things. I’d like to include the lyrics to that song in this blog. I hope you will take the advice from that song and encourage your kids to do the same. Set your imagination free to be a really creative you.

IMAGINATION

Chorus 1

Think a thing. See a thing. Do a thing;

Something that you’ve never done before.

 Think a thing. See a thing. Be a thing;

Anything you want to be and more.

 Verse 1

Seeing things no one has ever seen,

Doing things no one has ever done,

Being something no one’s ever been before,

You can never lose,

You can only win,

With imagination.

 Chorus 2

Think a thing. See a thing. Do a thing.

Something no one’s ever done before.

 Think a thing. See a thing. Be a thing;

Anything you want to be a more.

 Verse 2

Made in God’s own image you can see

Far beyond the space we call today.

What a gift He’s opened up for you and me!

Paint a work of art,

Write a symphony,

With imagination.

*Bridge

Imagination is from God.

Use it for good and not for bad.

So much is true and pure and lovely,

Let your thinking grow and before you know

You’ll be feeling glad.

 Chorus 3

Think a thing. See a thing. Do a thing;

Something no one’s ever done before.

 Think a thing. See a thing. Be a thing.

Anything you want to be and more.

 Verse 3

Made in God’s own image you can see

Far beyond the space we call today.

What a gift He’s opened up for you and me!

Paint a work of art

Write a symphony

With imagination!

 You can never lose

You can only win

With imagination – it’s His creation

Imagination – it’s His creation.

*Lyrics to bridge: Bob Kauflin

 ©2011, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on August 8, 2011, in Christian Growth, Follow Me, My Journey, Reflections, song lyrics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

