Songs of Praise


I love music. vocal, instrumental; acoustic, electric; classical, rock, country, jazz, pop, bluegrass, Gospel; love songs, worship songs, show tunes, movie themes, praise songs, even singing commercials; sad songs, happy songs and funny songs.  MUSIC – what a gift from God to mankind!

Often I wake up with a song running through my head; sometimes I sing in my dreams. I once wrote a song in my dream – sang it in my dream, but couldn’t remember it when I woke up.

Music – particularly vocal music – expresses our thoughts and feelings both at once – mingling mind and emotion, without one ruling out the other. And worship music, in whatever form, leaves behind the fragrance of the Holy Spirit.

Today a couple friends stopped by our home to share some personal concerns. We ended our “venting” with a time of prayer – which is the best way to end things that could leave us negative, depressed, or stressed.

At the end of the prayer time, a song of praise welled up inside me – a song of honor to the Savior who tells us to “cast all our cares on Him, because He cares for [us]”.

I began to sing the words to an old hymn that I must have learned when I was a child in a Baptist church in Virginia. Or maybe later at a Christian college? Or perhaps even later as a member of a Methodist church? Or later than that in an Independent church? Or more recently in an Advent Christian church? Or maybe we sang the hymn in all of those “cells” of the body of Christ?

Anyway, the song (which if you recognize it, will sing itself in your head) goes like this:

Praise Him, praise Him, Jesus our blessed Redeemer.

Sing, oh earth, His wonderful love proclaim.

Hail Him, hail Him, highest archangels in glory;

Praise and honor, give to His holy name.

Like a shepherd, Jesus will guard His children;

In His arms He carries them all day long.

Praise Him, Praise Him, tell of His excellent greatness.

Praise Him, Praise Him, ever in joyful song! *

To that my husband added the chorus to There is None Like You**:

There is none like You.

No one else could touch my heart like You do.

I could search for all eternity long,

And find, there is none like You.

When we finished singing, the others said they had also felt that we should end in a song. There is something about connecting with our Father in prayer together that brings forth praise which needs outward expression; and how appropriate that the praise should come forth in music – a joyful expression of a lightened heart.

We attend a very small church in which I am a member of the worship team. Often I close my eyes as we sing and I picture our small group’s worship mingling with the high praise that must continually go on in the courts of heaven.

I sense our small praise being magnified thousands of times as it passes from this dimension into the invisible space where God and the angels are visible to each other beyond our range of sight.

Back to earth and back to yesterday – following our prayer and praise time, for the rest of the day I sensed the peace of the presence of God.

After our visitors left, the Spirit reminded me of Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord; “plans not to harm you, but to give you a future and a hope.”  A good verse to ponder following the release of my concerns to our heavenly Father.

Such a God who makes such promises is more than worthy of our HIGHEST PRAISE.

Do you have any praise moments that have lifted you out of depression, worry, or negativity and given you a sense of hope?

©2011, Marcy Alves

*Lyrics by Fanny J. Crosby

** Lyrics by Lenny LeGlanc, 1991 Integrity’s Hosanna! Music

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on September 4, 2011, in Follow Me, God Encounters, My Journey, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Marcy
    Worship songs are the best. I enjoy many by Don Moen, Chris Tomlin (although sometimes I think his music is to loud and you can’t hear the words clearly) and Paul Moynihan who is such a calm singer and he is also that way in person. Keep on bloging. I look forward to all your blogs.
    Madeleine

  1. Pingback: THE POWER OF PRAISE AND WORSHIP | bummyla

Leave a Reply

