Things that Last in the Midst of Change


Change is inevitable. It happens all around us and it happens to us. Culture changes. Prices change – which seems to happen daily with the ever rising fuel costs. Health changes. Jobs change. And there seems to be nothing we can do about it. We are swept away in the fast moving current . . . unless we have a lifeline to rescue us from the swirling water. There is such a lifeline that is older than time.

“That which was from the beginning…..”  1 John 1:1

If you read the book of 1 John – one of the 3 short epistles that the Apostle John wrote – you’ll discover that he made frequent use of the phrase “from the beginning”.  The word of God was “from the beginning”, the commandment to love was “from the beginning”, the devil sinned “from the beginning” and God’s love for us was “from the beginning”. The beginning of “time” as we know it.

When I was a child, I thought that things that I knew from my “beginning” on earth would never change – my mother, my father, my family, our home – I thought they would be there forever.

But my mother died while I was in college and my father succumbed to cancer a few years later.

As I sat in a swing which hung from a large tree in the yard of my father’s home, knowing my father would soon die and that the family property would be sold, it struck me that nothing of this earth remains forever.  A sadness began to envelope me; then God brought back to my mind words I had read in a book written by C. S. Lewis . . . “Don’t ever let your happiness depend on something that can be taken away from you.”  In other words, don’t let your happiness depend on things that change.

What are the things that don’t change?

God does not change. His promises do not change.  The power of the cross of Christ to transform lives doesn’t change.  And the power of love to overcome evil never changes. God is the same as He was from before the beginning of this world as we know it – as James 1:17 says of Him

“there is no variableness or shadow due to change” with God.

For those who have a committed relationship with God through faith in the sacrificial death of Jesus on the cross, his resurrection from the dead, the indwelling of God’s Holy Spirit in their reborn hearts, and a solid belief in the return of our Lord, fear and dread of unknown and unwanted change have had their stingers removed.

Faith in our Father’s love for us will rise victorious over any apprehension of the future, as we learn to rest in Him and hold on to truth which has been there from “the beginning”.

“Let what you heard from the beginning abide in you,” (1 John 2:24)  . . . and His peace will be yours in the midst of constant change.

Prayer: Lord, keep my thoughts focused on things which are eternal – that which will be here after the end of things as I know them now – “that which was from the beginning”.

©2012, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Christian Growth, Follow Me, My Journey, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

