I Need, I Need! I Want, I Want!


Do you have a problem with “lust”? I heard that sudden intake of breath and imagined the shocked look on your face that I would start my blog with that meddlesome question. But before you begin a stammering litany of “true confessions”, read on.

There’s a lot more driven by lust than merely sex – though that appears to be a major motivator in the today’s deluge of uninhibited, irresponsible sex, which is both propelled by and contributing to the plethora of movies, TV shows, and music that focus on sexual relationships and unbridled passions. But, there’s a lot more to the problem of “lust”, which is a driving force in the 21st Century world, than libido.

One of our favorite comedies is “What About Bob?” staring Bill Murray. There is a scene where “Bob” is trying to convince his psychiatrist that he has to have treatment right away; he says: “You’ve got to help me. Come on: I need! I need! I want! I want! ”

This is really what lust is all about – perceived “need” which is no more than strong desire for something.

Like other typical American women, I am somewhat fashion conscious. Though I often don’t dress in the latest styles (I can’t afford to), I am very conscious of my lack of what’s “in” at any given time. It’s easy for me to be content with my wardrobe contents, until I go shopping. When I walk through the mall I can see at least 20 clothing items that cause me to relate to Bob’s plea: “I need, I need – I want, I want”.

After such a foray, I return home, look in my closet, and discover that nothing I have is “in style”. And I make myself a promise that as soon as I have a little extra money, I’ll revisit such and such a store and update my now pitiful wardrobe. I am the victim of a small elitist group of fashion designers, who don’t know or care about me personally, and who through their latest creations have relegated everything in my closet to become obsolete in one or two fashion seasons.

Clothing may not be your hang-up. Your area of desire may be houses, or cars, or gadgets, or food, or sex, or gossip, or popularity, or success, or control, or something else you don’t have enough of. But if you look closely, “lust” is there, hidden under the surface of your spirituality . . . maybe even connected to your spirituality. Perhaps your lust is for Biblical knowledge, spiritual experiences, or recognition of your service or spiritual gifts – “the pride of life”.

“For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh and the lust of the eyes and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.”  1 John 2:16

We need to learn to desire things of eternal value; to be as concerned about the clothing of our spirits as we are about material clothing. Jesus said:

“Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added to you.” Matt. 6:33

All of these lusts – of flesh, eyes, and pride, are not of the Father, but of the world.

“And the world passes away, and the lust of it.” 1 John 2:17

So, what desires do you need to surrender today? What is it you just can’t get enough of?

Prayer:  Father, deliver me from greed for possessions or reputation, except that the possessions be the fruits of your Holy Spirit, and that the reputation be as a child of God who loves others as you love them. May the strongest desires I feel, be for things of your kingdom.

©2012, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on February 19, 2012, in Christian Growth, Follow Me, My Journey, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. thank you Mom for the reminder of staying focused on the things that truly last. Things of this world are wasting away and it has a power of it’s own to suck you in and be somebody because you need to have this or that. We are all ready somebody, we’re sons and daughters of the living God who wants to be all we need in life. I want to be content with what I have and grateful for whatever He wants to add to my life while I’m here. I don’t want to be content with my walk or relationship with Him. That’s what I truly need is more of a hunger for Him. Please pray that for me when you think to. Thanks for your blog. Keep us hungury for the things that last.

Leave a Reply

