Recycled or Re-created?


I am unashamedly a “recycler”.  Not on the order of a hoarder who holds onto things for possible re-use that get buried under a pile of stuff, destined not to see the light of day again until after the funeral, when family members, kind friends, or hired hands begin to clean out the years of collected debris. No, I recycle weekly, monthly and for the “good stuff”, yearly at a summer yard sale.

We’ve been in “people ministries” for years, and much of what gathers dust at my house has been given to us by friends or grateful ministry recipients. Years ago I used an illustration in my spiritual re-birth testimony about having been a frog that was kissed by the Prince of Peace, which changed me into a princess in God’s kingdom. People began to send me frogs – ceramic frogs, cloth frogs, metal frogs, etc. But I’m digressing here.

Being an adamant recycler, I’m always amazed how frequently both technological and simple practical inventions, geared to make life “simpler” turn out to produce clutter – both in our lives and in our environment.

For instance:

  • Styrofoam cups, bowls and plates are not recyclable;
  • old computers (which really don’t have to be “old” by antique standards and are up-graded or outdated within two or more years) have a recycling charge at the dump, and are not biodegradable;
  • K-cups for one-cup coffee makers (which at the current rate of use will fill up most local land-fills in about a half-generation) are not recyclable unless you first dump out the used coffee grounds and pull out the fabric liner.
  • Cell phones, CDs, DVDs – what do we do with them? We bury them in our garbage bags, which are now mandatory in NH and color coded – no more familiar green garbage bags or lose trash in big trashcans. These bags are purchased from the state of NH to cover the cost of getting rid of our trash.
  • Auto oil containers (both plastic bottles and metal cans), old car batteries – the list could go on and on – are hard to get rid of for free.

Do you ever wonder why the manufacturers of such products as I listed above, don’t seem to have a plan for recycling? Why aren’t the producers of high tech and low tech products held responsible for getting rid of the “stuff” after it’s broken or outdated? Do you wonder how many more generations can inhabit planet earth and continue discarding un-recyclables, before there is no more space for the “stuff”?

I hope others will catch the vision to take care of what God made for us to enjoy – the beauties of natural wonder – a green earth and a blue sky; clean water to drink, wash with, and swim in.

I suppose a totally cluttered earth won’t happen in my lifetime, but I will remain a recycler until the end of me or the earth, whichever comes first.

There are some things that I have made a conscious decision not to recycle, such as bad attitudes, unkind behavior, bitterness, anger, revenge, hopelessness, meanness, despair, and discouragement. And I want to be responsible to clean up any of this stuff that I inadvertently spew into the atmosphere around me. Because, just as I care about my physical environment, I care about the spiritual environment around me.

Even though I’m into recycling, I’m so glad that God didn’t “recycle” me, causing me to come back in one form after another and go around for time after time. He “re-created” me through a spiritual re-birth: He gave me a new way of thinking, a new desire to make things around me better, a new zeal for life without all the clutter and clamor, and a clean heart and conscience – without guilt over old mistakes and sins.

2 Cor. 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

One day, when His work in me is complete, I’ll look like Jesus. As it says in Romans 8:28-29:

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son . . .”

I only wish the creators of all the gadgets we are convinced we need to buy had a way to gather the discards and re-create them into something more useful than landfill. They should take a lesson from the Master inventor.

So what’s your story – are you recycled or re-ceated?

©2012, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on March 21, 2012, in Follow Me, My Journey, Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Good post.

    This is exactly why the NIV is incorrect, “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” John 8:36. NIV.

    We are not recycled – just set free. Rather we are re-created in Christ – thus “made” new:

    “If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.” John 8:38. Authorized Version.

    • Thanks for your comments. Your response reminded me that I had meant to include another verse in my post – 2 Cor. 5:17. I edited to include it. Blessings.

    • Yes! Someone who knows the truth about the substandard NIV translation. I personally prefer the NASB95:

      “And you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.” [John 8:32]

      “So if the Son makes you free, you will be free indeed.” [John 8:36]

  2. I’m recreated too. Your insights always help me to see into the Word more clearly. Love how practical you make things. Thanks.

  3. I was tempted to post a picture of a frog here but I won’t add to the things you’d have to recycle LOL

    Great post! I’d choose to have my old man destroyed than recycled any day. When the world tells us that we are doomed and that there is no such thing as “rebirth,” God is doing it daily! I am a witness because He did it for me!!

    He is always the answer when man cannot come up with one.

    • Thanks for reading. The world will never understand because it’s not by man’s wisdom that understanding comes, but by the Spirit of God communicating with our spirits the truth of God.

  4. Marcy, I choose to be re-created. When you are re-created you put away the old to include bad behavior, ugly attitude, and all the unGodly things. You become a new creature. Recycled is to me re-using what was there before. That means you are made of the same components and possibly inheriting bad components of others because you are recycled with other stuff. I tend to look at recycle as a short cut that tricks the mind, but being re-created is a long process that requires discipline. Thank you for sharing.

    I believe I am going in the right direction, being remolded in God’s Potter house.

    Shenine

    • Hi Shenine. Thanks for your thoughts. Glad you have chosen to be re-created by our Heavenly Father. May He continue to form and shape you into the image of Jesus. Blessings on you today.

  5. What a great article! As for me, I am born again, reborn, re-created (and sometimes recreated). Humanity is in a hopeless situation without a spiritual rebirth. Yet, I want to point out the obvious that being born of the Spirit demands that one first be born of the flesh. Most people, sadly, never arrive at the second birth, which makes their first birth eternally worthless.

    Many people have taken the recycle route, making their lives better in a physical, emotional, or intellectual way—getting in shape, having purely cosmetic surgery, reading self-help books, etc. While some of these things are good, they do nothing for a soul lost under the influence of sin.

    It is spiritual birth, maturation, and growth that matters. It is, as you said, allowing the Lord to do the seemingly impossible—transforming us into His image. Thanks, Marcy.

Leave a Reply

