Credit Cards Not Accepted


Last weekend David and I drove to VT for an overnight.  I was slated to speak for a Christian women’s group and we decided to combine the ministry with a visit with some friends who live in Newport Center, VT.

On the drive to VT on Sunday afternoon, I got a blog idea and reached for my purse where I always carry a small notebook and pen – only to discover that my purse was not there. To say this was a bit disconcerting is putting it mildly. For a woman, forgetting her purse is like missing an essential piece of clothing. It’s kind of a “naked” feeling.

My husband said not-to-worry, I wouldn’t need my purse because he was there. I reminded him that he was not going to be driving when I went to speak at the women’s group the next night and my driver’s license was in my purse at home. He told me to just be careful and drive slowly (I guess he meant, not my usual how-fast-can-I-drive–without- it-being-fast-enough-to-get-a-speeding-ticket).

We arrived at our destination about two hours later, got settled in our guest room and prepared to leave for dinner with our friends. Remembering that we were treating our friends to dinner, David reached into his pocket for his wallet to make sure he had brought the proper credit card with him, only to discover his wallet was not there. He then recalled that earlier that day he had used one of his credit cards in my car and had laid his wallet on the console. And there it remained – back at home.

So, here we were with no money or credit cards between the two of us. Our very gracious friends offered to treat us to dinner, which was very embarrassing, but under the circumstances, and since we were all hungry, we had no other solution.

There have been many times in each of our lives when we have been short on funds, but never been so thoroughly without resources. No money and no way to buy anything. It struck both of us that this is what many people face on a daily basis – no job, no money, no way to pay bills or buy even the most necessary supplies. It must be discouraging at the least, and frightening at the extreme.

Two days later we began our 2 ½ hour drive back home with a half-tank of gas. Though our friends would have gladly filled our gas tank, we decided to exercise our faith muscle. We arrived home with the tank registering empty. After stopping off at the house to pick up David’s wallet, we had enough gas to get to a local station for a fill-up.

As I thought back on the unusual turn of circumstance with our missing wallets, I was grateful that we discovered our lack of resources before receiving the bill at the restaurant.  I can only imagine our extreme embarrassment at not being able to pay.

In regard to our spiritual debt to God, there will be a day when the bill comes due. On that day, we will all discover we have left our wallets behind, with absolutely no provision of our own to purchase what we need. Good works won’t do it, moral lives won’t do it, “spiritual” service won’t do it. No amount of praying, witnessing, or genuflecting, or self-denial will meet the need.

No one can boast,“ I have earned my way in; I did it on my own.” For the Scriptures are clear:

Eph. 2:8-9 “For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.”

We have to humble ourselves to receive His provision, His gift to us, just as David and I had to humble ourselves before our friends and let them treat us to the restaurant meal.

It’s also important to realize that God does not grade on the curve.  We are not in competition for a few admission tickets into the kingdom of God. We cannot clean up our act and offer our best selves to God. We are totally impoverished – nothing to offer of self or personal substance. There is only one way to God’s heart; one door through which we enter into his kingdom of eternal life.

John 10:7-9 So Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. . .  I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture.”

John 14:6 “Jesus said  . . .“I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

No other way in, no layaway plan, and credit cards are not accepted on that day. But God the Father accepts us on the basis of the credit of His Son on our behalf, and on the humbling of ourselves to accept His provision.

1 John 4:10 “This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”

You can save yourself embarrassment later, by accepting His free offer now. Don’t wait until the bill comes due.

What’s in your wallet?

©2012, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Christian Growth, Follow Me, My Journey, Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This article needs to be broadcast to the whole world. What an excellent account of the Lord’s provision. In such instances our faith is given a chance to grow, spread its wings, and even fly. The lack of provision was actually not a lack at all. The Lord provided. What a great feeling it is to know that no matter what happens the Lord will be there and will provide whatever is necessary. You guys did great. The Lord Jesus was glorified by your behavior! Very well written.

  2. Beautiful! On a trip to my brothers’ in Michigan we stopped at a Whole Foods in Ann Arbor to stock up before hitting their house and I discovered that I had left my purse at the restaurant we stopped in 40 miles back. Filled with cash and all my credit cards I was horrified. We all prayed and I first called the police who curtly told me they didn’t have time to go chasing after purses. Then the restaurant wasn’t listed. So we left Megan at the Whole Foods and sped back praying that it would still be there. When we arrived the police had thought better of it and were there, the cute little waitress had it in hand saying, “I never even opened it to see whose it was because I didn’t want to be accused of nuthin!” Although she protested, we gave her a nice tip and thanked God for her right there in the restaurant. What a huge relief as we still had a huge trip in front of us, all the way to NV. So this message really touched my heart. Thanks Marci and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

