Rude Awakening: What Was That Sound?


Have you ever been awakened out of a sound sleep by a loud noise that sets your mind buzzing? Like, “What was that? And what do I need to do about it?” I had one of these heart palpitating awakenings recently.

I had a hard time getting to sleep the night before. Unlike my husband, who can fall asleep as soon as his head hits the pillow – which can cause some interesting marriage dynamics, as I am more likely to use those brief moments before he passes into dreamland to debrief from today’s phone calls, personal encounters, discoveries (“What did you order online yesterday and on which card?”), etc. Plus, I usually have to read a novel for at least half-an-hour before sleep creeps up on me.

Anyway, I turned my light off around 12:30, but had trouble getting to sleep. I could not find a comfortable sleeping position. I threw covers off, pulled them back on; went to the bathroom, tried again to find that perfectly comfortable position, all to no avail. At 1:45 a.m. I was still awake. Finally, after taking an anti-acid, which contained just enough calcium to encourage sleep, I entered unconsciousness.

The next morning I was startled out of a deep, peaceful sleep by a loud noise. What was that sound!?

My half-awake brain registered the sound of the squealing brakes of the garbage truck. I suddenly came totally awake! I had forgotten to gather the trash and the re-cycles the night before, to be put out to the end of our driveway. Jumping up out of bed, adrenalin kicking in, I dashed around the house gathering trash from some 13 or so trashcans, recycle bins, and garbage containers. Fairly running down the stairs to our walk-in basement where our offices are located, I enlisted my husband’s help and got the trash out to the curb minutes before the garbage truck arrived.

God speaks to me through all sorts of situations, like this one. I try to stay tuned to His wave-length so that I don’t mistake life events for “stuff that randomly happens”.

The Scriptures say that God speaks – present tense.

 “I will listen to what God the Lord says . . .” Psalm 85:8a

“For God speaks in one way, and in two, though man does not perceive it.” Job 33:14

When the Lord speaks to me, some of the applications are poignant, and this was one of them. He caused me to reflect on how the sound of the garbage truck had led me to take action.

Because God does not desire that any will be lost when earth-time is over, even now He is speaking a warning to this sleeping world to spur people to action:

In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falls on people as they slumber in their beds, he may speak in their ears and terrify them with warnings, to turn them from wrongdoing and keep them from pride, to preserve them from the pit, their lives from perishing by the sword.

Sometimes God speaks warnings to us, like a parent will call out to a child, “Susie, No! Come back here!” when the toddler is about to step in front of an oncoming car.

We have just come through a horrific season of draught, storms, fires, tornados and even earthquakes – plus there are many hurricanes and tropical storms predicted for this fall. Not to mention the fluctuating  stock market affecting economies around the world; the jobless rate here in the States; escalating food and gas prices are with no promise of their dropping.

God has already sent all sorts of warning sounds to cause people to wake up to the truth that this world is on a collision course with destruction. There is a law of physics called “the second law of thermonuclear dynamics” – which simplified means that the universe tends toward “maximum entropy” – in other words, the universe is wearing out, winding down, losing energy.

The warnings are all around us that time is running out, but not many seem to be paying attention to the destiny of their souls. There are those who act as if they will live forever, even ignoring the physical signs in their bodies. For all creatures of flesh, death will come in one way or another. All of this that we now know as “life on planet earth” will come to an end.

When our resurrected Lord Jesus returns to earth, everything will be changed. There will no longer be world governments contending with each other for control of the planet and outer space; for the forces of heaven will be in control, with Christ as the head.

At the last moment, there will be several warning sounds to awaken earth’s inhabitants; even the dead will hear these sounds:

1 Thessalonians 4:16-18  For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever. Therefore encourage one another with these words.”

For the Spirit-born followers of Christ from every nation who may be asleep in their beds when this event occurs, there may be some fuzzy-headed sense of “something is happening here that I need to be awake for”. And then the awareness will burst forth, “This is what we have been preparing for! This is the return of our Lord Jesus!”

Unfortunately, there will also be people from every nation who will not know what is happening when they hear all the noise; it will be like waking into a nightmare, instead of waking out of one. There will be many who have heard and have rejected the message, thinking that all religions lead to God; or those who thought they were “good enough” to get in on the deal, or those who figured they had plenty of time left to do something about it.

The time to get ready is now. It’s time to take out the garbage – to get clean inside . . .

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9

. . . and to receive the gift of Spirit-life that can only be gotten from God Himself.

“And this is the testimony: that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life.” 1 John 5:11-12

When I was a young teenager, I heard about the return of Christ. I dreamed one night that the Lord had returned and I looked out my window and saw that He was taking people up to be with Him, but He was leaving me behind. I woke up from that scary dream, got on my knees by my bed and prayed, “Lord, please don’t leave me here when you come back. Show me what I have to do to be ready for you.” Within the next few months I was led to the Lord, confessed my sin and received His gift of life.

How about you? Have you heard the sound of the garbage truck yet and gotten rid of your accumulation of garbage? If so, it’s time to start listening for the loud command, the voice of the archangel, and the sound of the trumpet call of God.

©2012, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Christian Growth, Follow Me, God Encounters, My Journey, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

