Religious Defenders or Opportunists?


There has been quite a stir in the news for the past several days regarding the militant Islamic uprisings at various American embassies and on military compounds in Muslim-controlled countries in the Middle East and North Africa, purportedly over a B-rated movie made in the US by an Egyptian immigrant. Militant Muslims in other countries, such as France and Australia have jumped on the bandwagon. The movie, entitled Innocence of Muslims, depicts the Islamic prophet Muhammad in a negative light.

Although there is rationale to support that some of the attacks by militant Muslims were not spontaneous, but pre-planned to correspond with the anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks on New York City and other places in the US in 2001, the “feet on the ground” in Egypt, Afghanistan and Tunisia belong to mobs who attribute their anger to the defamation of their prophet, the writer of the Quran.

I have thought a lot about this totally illogical reasoning that has led to the terrorist attacks by these Islamic radicals. If they really believe that Allah is God and Muhammad is his prophet, why do they, mere humans, have to defend them?

There have been quite a few movies in the past few years which have depicted Jesus Christ the Son of God, as a mere man with a God-complex, a homosexual, a lustful man fantasizing having sex with a women, a self-seeking radical; a family man who married the converted prostitute, Mary Magdalene, and probably other films that I, thankfully, am unaware of. Though I am troubled by hearing of such depictions of my Savior, and saddened that there are demonized people making such movies, I have never thought of becoming violent over those films, nor with the ones who made them. I simply chose to boycott the movies and to influence others to do the same.

That a large number of Muslims would become violent over the film about Muhammad is totally lacking in reason. And to blame a whole nation for the deeds of one man is incomprehensible. That’s why I believe that these militants who are making such a fuss are using the movie as a smokescreen for a festering hatred of America that has been smoldering for a long while under the surface. Several mid-eastern countries seem to have a love/hate relationship with America – they accept our help and our financial and military support to gain their freedom from long-term dictators, but take vengeance on America with very little provocation. It seems they resent us for having accepted our help.

I am a Christian. I worship and serve the Creator, the Master of the universe, the God above all gods, and his Son, my Savior, Jesus the Christ. He is a big God. He does not need me to defend Him or to threaten others who try to defame Him. He is God and He is in control. He does not need me to do His work. In fact, He tells me to forgive others, to pray for them.

Here’s my dilemma, why would the followers of Muhammad feel that they have to defend their prophet or Allah, their god? What makes them think that he is not enough of a god to defend his own honor? Is he a god of fear? Are they afraid of him? Is he a god for whom men and women have to kill themselves and others in order to please him? Is he a god of hate? Is he a god of violence? Who would want to follow a god like that? Are we getting an accurate picture of Muhammad and of Allah through these militant Muslims? If not, why aren’t the peaceful Muslims stopping such violence in the name of their god?

I would honestly like to dialogue with a committed Muslim to find out how they see their god and how they see their relationship to him. It sounds quite different than my Christian belief in my loving Father God. Is love a part of Allah’s kingdom? If not, how can a person follow a god who does not love them as his children?

I would be glad to hear from anyone who is a committed Muslim to discover how you think about your faith and your god. If any of my other readers have a personal relationship with a sincere Muslim who would care to comment, please refer them to my blog site.

In the meantime, anyone can discover my faith-basis by reading the New Testament – particularly the 4 Gospels, the book of the Acts of the Apostles, and the book of First John. The other NT books are also important, but the ones I mentioned will give a good picture of the God of love that I both worship and adore.

Meanwhile, Hebrews 12:14 offers some good words for all of us:

“Make every effort to live in peace with everyone and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord. See to it that no one falls short of the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many.”

©2012, Marcy Alves

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on September 16, 2012, in Follow Me, In the News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great perspective. Thanks, Marcy.

    Like you, I have seen over the decades of my life how my Lord and Savior is trashed worldwide, and especially right here in good old God-fearing America, and I have never wanted to strike back to defend His honor. It is simply due to being aware of the Gospel accounts of how He lived His life, and how He loved and forgave others. It saddens me, and it used to anger me, but a God who teaches us to forgive means we must forgive and live a forgiving lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

