Breast Cancer Awareness: Increasing God-Awareness


This month is Breast Cancer Awareness month – not that I am unaware of breast cancer the rest of the year; I have breast cancer, with which I was diagnosed about 4½ years ago.

I had been diagnosed with breast cysts several times in my life – once just before David and I were married 34 years ago. I had surgery and a fairly large double-cyst was removed, which was benign. Several other times cysts were found, diagnosed as benign and not removed, they seemed to disappear.

The day I received the cancer diagnosis from a mammogram and follow-up ultrasound, I wasn’t surprised, and yet I was. Among those who know me best, I was known to have a healthy lifestyle of diet, exercise, and spiritual life. But cancer is no respecter of persons. Obviously my immune system was not healthy enough to ward off the cancer. Which I should have suspected some ten years earlier, when I developed shingles, following an emotionally challenging mission trip to Brazil.

Anyway – from whatever cause – there it was staring at me from the x-ray photography, and verified by the biopsy pathology report – breast cancer “in-situ”.

We came home from the surgeon’s office, feeling a little numb – it felt like a day out of time – like I was watching a movie of someone else’s life.

My husband volunteered to call our family and a few close friends for prayer while I spent some much needed time with my Heavenly Father.  Several of my older blog posts have come out of that on-going experience.

How am I doing today? Still waiting and trusting and leaning into the arms of my Savior; still waiting to hear the next directive from Him; finding more than my sufficiency in His love; wondering if all of His purposes for permitting this invasion of the flesh have been accomplished. And holding on to His the words spoken into my spirit the day of the original diagnosis:

“Don’t be afraid.”  “Trust me.” “This is not just for you.”  “Wait on Me.” “Be still and know that I am God.”

For any readers who are facing the challenge of breast cancer, or any other kind of cancer, no matter what course of treatment you may choose or have chosen, may those five words connect with you in the midst of your personal crisis.

President F. D. Roosevelt said at the time of WWII,

“We have nothing to fear but fear itself.”

So don’t be afraid. Trust God to bring you through. Wait on Him for direction, comfort, and healing of your body and spirit. Be still long enough to “know” that He alone is God – that however the healing comes, it is His hand that is healing you.

Pray for and with me and others who are on the battlefield with you against this enemy from hell.

I believe that “in the beginning” when God created earth and sky and sea; plants and animals, and the crown of His creation – MAN, He placed in the creation whatever is needed for physical healing. Pray that our Father leads someone to discover His cure for cancer.

Where there is God, there is life. Where there is life, there is hope. May you learn to live in hope by living in God.

©2012, Marcy Alves

Related Posts:

Disease Does Not Define Me

When God’s Voice is “Indistinct” part 1

When God’s Voice is “Indistinct” part 2

Life Challenges, Prayer, and a Relationship with God

Dealing With Fear

 

 

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on October 14, 2012, in Follow Me, God Encounters, My Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Marcy
    I pray for both of everyday and also for all the people out there who are facing this challenge. I never thought of praying for God’s cure to be discovered. Thanks. I plan on including that in my everyday prayers.
    Madeleine

Leave a Reply

