Looking for Love?


“Single man looking for a chance at love with a faithful woman.”

This post appeared with a picture of a handsome young man in a uniform on an ad that popped up on one of my free email sites. I don’t know if it was just a come-on for an eager, available and lonely woman, or if it was a sincere search. But it started me thinking.

No, I’m not shopping for a new man; I already have a really great husband – a faithful best friend.

But I couldn’t help but wonder how many people today, both men and women, could identify with that ad? How many wish they had a faithful woman or a faithful man, a faithful wife or husband, even a faithful friend to come alongside them – to stand with them in difficult times.

And how many will be drawn in by such an ad, and will set out on a journey that may leave them even more lonely and disappointed than they were before?

The themes of love and faithfulness shifted in my thoughts from the world of romance to the realm of the spiritual. I thought of an ad that God might place on one of these email sites:

“Awesome God looking for a chance at love with a faithful woman or a faithful man.”

or

“Faithful God looking for a chance to demonstrate His love to those who are searching for a loving, faithful relationship.”

While not worded like the two preceding posts, such ads have appeared in a very special book; it’s the Bible and it is full of ads from God. Here are some of those God-posts:

Jeremiah 31:3 “I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.”  (ESV)

Deut. 7:9 “Know therefore that the Lord your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations . . .” (ESV)

John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not perish but may have eternal life.”  (NRSV)

Gal. 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ . . .  and the life I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God,who loved me and gave himself for me. (NRSV)

1 John 3:1 “How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!” (NIV)

Anyone who responds to these God-posts will discover the One who is faithful to show His love to all who open up to His offer of a loving relationship. He will be there with you in those difficult time when no one else seems to hear your unspoken cries for help or understanding.

The Lord has said:

Heb. 13:5 “ I will never leave you nor forsake you.

Joshua 1:5   “Just as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you or forsake you.”

How about you? Are you looking for someone who will be faithful to you and love you? It’s the cry of the human heart – and God is waiting to answer that call from your heart to His.

©2011, Marcy Alves

Photo by Mikhail Nekrasov/Dreamstime.com

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on February 13, 2014, in Christian Growth, God Encounters, Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

