Turn On the Light


turn on light #2

“Walk as children of light (for the fruit of light is found in all that is good and right and true),  and try to discern what is pleasing to the Lord.” Eph. 5:8-10

It’s interesting how the presence of light affects us. When I return home after dark, I love to see lights on in our windows; so I leave our Christmas candles in the windows well into springtime. An unlit house seems to uninviting. On rainy days at home, I turn on lights in whichever room I’m in – lots of them; otherwse the dreariness makes me sleepy. I’m noticing there are other people like me.

We host a house-church fellowship in our home every Sunday morning. And I’ve noticed something interesting: on sunny days the conversations are more animated, and attention and participation in our “Celebration” time are more enthusiastic. On dreary, overcast days the mood is more subdued; on those days I make it a point to turn on the lights in the family room where we gather.

Recently our weekly Sunday meeting day started out sunny, but a short way into our fellowship time, the skies darkened and began to pour rain. The rain started just after we had been called back from our coffee break to hear the message my husband had prepared to share. I hurried into the meeting room to turn on some lights, but David had already begun to speak. So, I didn’t get to the light at the front of the room where he sat on a stool, nor to the one at the end of the room nearest him. Not wanting to distract or interrupt his message, I quietly found a seat at the opposite end of the room.

My husband’s message was about how believers have “unveiled faces” (unlike Moses, who in the Old Testament, after he had spent time with the Lord in his tent of meeting, had to veil his face so the people would not be frightened by the radiance of God on his face). David shared that as we look at the Lord, His glory (radiance) is reflected in our faces more and more, and we begin to be changed into His likeness – to look more like our Savior, Jesus.

The darker the skies got outside on that Sunday morning, the darker it became in the portion of the room where David was speaking. His facial features were almost hidden, even though his voice was animated. He rose from his stool a few times to address the people with more animation. I noticed that the lady sitting in the chair next to me and three other people in the room had fallen asleep. It wasn’t due to the lack of vocal volume or animation; it was an important word, but they were missing the message due to the lack of physical light in the room, because they couldn’t see his face, they became drowsy in the half-light of the room . It was a living example of what a lack of light will do.

This situation triggered a thought; you might say a light went on in my head: often people can’t “see” our message of God’s love because His image is not clearly visible in us – perhaps we’ve neglected to spend time beholding Him,  or maybe we’ve let our own trials and difficulties turn our focus from God to our circumstances; in either case, the glory has faded. If the light of our Lord is not shining out from us, if people are not seeing His glory reflected in us, they will not be “awake” to our message. Our witness will be a spiritual slumber inducer – mere words without spiritual illumination.

My house has lots of windows; I love the feeling I get from all the light in my home. In an earlier post I wrote about my plastic penguin that dances in the daylight on an old green chest in front of my uncurtained dining room window. He dances most vigorously in sunlight and only rocks a little when the clouds block the sun. He does not dance at night. I’m a lot like that plastic penguin. Light gives me energy; overcast days dull me.

There are also people who energize me and others who drain me; people who give off light and people who seem to have the switch in a permanent “off” position – always complaining about something and diffusing my joy.

When people radiate the Lord, I love being in their presence; it stirs up a spiritual energy in me and also causes me to see my heavenly Father more clearly. That kind of light attracts me like a moth is attracted to our houselights at night. This is a big part of what drew me to the Lord as a young teenager – the light of Christ shining from the youth workers who spent time to reach us with God’s message of love.

If we want to be effective in bringing light into this ever darkening world, we need to be attentive to spending time in God’s presence, soaking in it; this should be a life priority, because He is the source of our spiritual light – that transforming “sonlight”.

2 Corinthians 3:18 says:

“And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory (radience) to another.” ESV

Jesus said in Matthew 5:14-16:

You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and  give glory to your Father who is in heaven.”  NKJV

Spend some time with the Lord today, then get out there and show the world what He looks like. Live the message and turn on the light so people can find their way to Him.

By the way, my penguin is dancing today, and so am I.

 

©2014, Marcy Alves

 

About Marcy

I love my Father-God. Together we are walking through a season of my life where I am standing with him against cancer. He is my strength and trust. As one of his daughters, my passion is to share his love with others in practical, everyday illustrations and insights.

Posted on July 30, 2014, in Christian Growth, Follow Me, My Journey, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the post! The reading was just what I needed this morning. So glad to hear your penguin is dancing!!!

    >

    • Thanks Judy for your comment. Glad it hit the spot. Sometimes I’ll go back and read one of my own posts from say two years ago and it will meet a need I have the day I read it – God has a way of bringing His message around full circle. Hope you have a great day.

  1. Pingback: Strong at Last | Catching a Vision by Viv

Leave a Reply

